, pub-2782336357453463, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

Court and Official Agency

There are two parallel court systems in the United States: federal and state courts. The United States federal courts comprise the judiciary branch of federal government organized under the U.S. Constitution and laws of the federal government. Federal courts can be classified into three levels: United States district courts, United States courts of appeals and the Supreme Court of the United States.

State courts have jurisdiction over disputes in their respective states. State courts consist of trial courts often called district courts or circuit courts, intermediate appellate court such as usually called courts of appeal and a state supreme court for each state.

State courts are not subordinate to federal courts. Federal courts and state courts are two parallel sets of court with different and sometimes overlapping jurisdiction.